'93 7.3 EGT issues

Frisbee650

Reaction score
Hi all. First time poster, but I have searched and used the forum any time I am working on something. A little about me, I am a Ford and diesel fan, I have a ’93 F-250 IDI with 160,000 miles and an ’01 F-250 Power Stroke with 340,000 miles. As the title states, I am having an EGT issue with my ’93, and was hoping for some help and input. I am not a mechanic by any means but am able to get things done with the help of the web.

This is going to be a long post, hopefully I am trying to supply all the necessary information for some help.

I bought the pick up last November with the intentions of turning it into a camping rig I could use for quick trips, due to life and other issues it took me until May to put a complete tank through it. The truck came with receipts for a bunch of recent work including a new injection pump 3 years and 12,000 miles ago. I started using it a little more this summer and noticed on trips into the hills with nothing in it besides me, my daughters, a dog a cooler and some chairs that it was blowing black smoke on the grades we were driving up. Started doing a little research and became worried that the fuel had been turned up by the previous owner. The truck wasn’t smoking like some of the kids you see around town, but I could make it blow pretty good if I got on it. I installed a Pyrometer per the following web site, I used the exact gauge and installed the probe in the same location they did.

http://www.dieselhub.com/performance/idi-pyro-install.html