Think it's worth it? 88 F-250

RampageFSJ

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to diesels, and I've been lurking around here for a while and I just joined up;Sweet .

I've been looking for a tow rig for my Jeep, preferrably in the diesel flavor and I think I may have found one. It's an 88 F-250 4x4 with a 7.3 IDI, a C6 (I think), regular cab, and 180,000 miles on it. Here's the catch, it's in the junkyard that I work at. They just bought it while I was on break (it even has new tags for this year). According to them it has a bad tranny, and while I was still on break they pulled the front end out only to realize that it was a D44 TTB instead of the D50 that the customer wanted. One thing that really draws me to it is the fact that it has the same paint as an F-150 that I used to own that holds sentimental value to me.:Q

They want $850 for it, which includes everything that they took off. They also have a C6 that they say is good for $250. I'd like to try to haggle them down to $1,000 with the tranny. Does that sound reasonable? I can change out the tranny in my hobby auto class after checking it out. Also, what are some things that I should check on the engine first to get it reliable? I can check for cavitation by running it and seeing if any bubbles come through the radiator with the cap off, right? one more thing before I go, what is the diameter of the IDI's exhaust tubing? I just caught a glimpse of the tailpipe and it looks huge compared to most diesel tailpipes that I've seen.

I've got to go now, I'll probably have more later. Thank you for any help given.:cool

RampageFSJ

Reaction score
Dang, I knew I'd forget some details if I got in a hurry.:frustrate