Good Deal? 1986 e350 6.9l 4x4

Austin Crowe

Reaction score
im looking at getting a 1986 e350 6.9l diesel pathfinder 4x4 it's got 155k miles and he says it runs perfect and (edit:) TRANS runs cool at 160 degrees. Said he's put a new manufacturer fuel pump in it. He's asking $12000 but said he's motivated to sell.

I would like to know how reliable are these vans? And what should I look for as far as the common problems on them and how much money can I expect to dump into it if I get it. Ive read that the 6.9l is really good and the biggest problem is thin heads which get eaten up by coolant?

My goal is to make it into a conversion van and travel across the U.S in it. Im a newb at diesel engines any suggestions or help is really appreciated.
Thanks

I'
You must be registered for see images

Last edited:

IDIoit

MachinistFabricator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
if it runs @ 160 degrees, it does not have a motorcraft t-stat, and most likely autolite glow plugs.
12 grand? please visit said van owner and bring me 2 of whatever he is smoking, that's a 3500 dollar rig if immaculate.

their as reliable as the time and effort you put into it, and a IDI van owner is a special breed indeed.
I have an IDI truck that I rebuilt, and I wouldn't hesitate to drive it anywhere.
I have a PSD e-350 1998, with 330k on the clock, that's just as reliable as my IDI.
but I bought it for 2k with new tires.

riphip

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Agreed, on price but I don't need the smokes! Sounds like there is no t-stat. If off on that subject, may be off on others.
Unless you know the seller, his stories are making the most money. Mark Twain always sold his stories easily.

compressionignitionrules

Full Access Member
Reaction score
its too steep on price unless it is showroom condition. 4wd vans seem to pull some serious money if they are clean and more if they are diesel. it will be a C6 trans and without an overdrive your cruising speed will be low.