Bringing the old girl back to life

Jimmylb01

Reaction score
I have been looking over this forum for a while, I bought a 1984 ford F250 to bring back to life, that and could not pass up a $600 truck. The old girl did not run when I bought her, the previous owner said the injection pump had went out, but seeing as she was tagged and inspected, I figured I could get her pack to life. Well with my work being out in west Texas and the truck being in Tyler don't get much time to work on her. So far I have bought a new IP, but going to wait to install it till I get the fuel system worked out. (PO was running red diesel in it, and hoses don't look to good) So this is my introduction to the forum. Being that I have been a diesel mechanic the last seven years I feel I have the tools to rebuild her. I have noticed that everyone on here does share a wealth of information. My overall goal is to build just a reliable truck that the kids can use for school, figured they could not get in much trouble in an old ford truck (especially a diesel). Hopefully this thread will be my build thread and I'll post pictures along the way. I welcome all comments and info because I know many of you have more knowledge that I do, that I could always use. Thanks and I'll update what is being done along the way.

laserjock

Almost there...
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome! There are several things to look at before you change IPs. It might be as simple as the fuel shutoff solenoid not getting power. Look around. Read the stickies if you haven't already....especially the hall of shame...it will save you money and grief.

Good luck!

Waystro

No Class
Reaction score
Welcome! There are several things to look at before you change IPs. It might be as simple as the fuel shutoff solenoid not getting power. Look around. Read the stickies if you haven't already....especially the hall of shame...it will save you money and grief.

Good luck!

How many miles on it?