Turbo time thanks to head gasket leak

BioFarmer93

OPEC Hater
Reaction score
Hey Everybody,
It's been awhile since I checked in, but I still read most days.. Well, Henry has become afflicted with a head gasket leak or two, what appears to be a front main seal leak and possibly a rear seal leak. While I have the engine out the ZF-5 is going to be rebuilt- I'm tired of my shifts sounding like I've never driven a manual before and having to hit 2nd real fast before I can go into reverse without sounding like my goal is smoothing all the teeth from the gears. I have a set of turbo heads that I've been sitting on for a couple of years that I just had redone- valve job, new guides, magna-fluxed, yada yada.. Anyway, in true Biofarmer style, I didn't ever even consider the possibility that there might be fitment issues between N-A and turbo heads. The Felpro gasket set I got is listed for both, but this is seldom traveled territory for me. I'm finally able to order my ARP studs today- had to save a while for those, because when all is said and done, Henry will be sporting two Volvo turbos, each mounted as close to the end of each exhaust manifold as is practicable. The oil cooler will receive maintenance during this time, as well as a general evaluation of everything I can think of- oh yeah, it's about time for a new oil pump also.. The current one works, but the pressure could stand to be about 20psi higher at idle. Already have the valley pan, all gaskets (except oil cooler) rebuilt and pop matched BB code injectors and intercooler. Yet to be acquired are the two used turbos (that go straight to Russ for rebuilding) various piping & odds and ends. I'm sure a lot of you that have done this before have some pearls to share about the process. This is my first time rebuilding anything bigger than a Harley, so be gentle..;);)

vandy7.3

Full Access Member
Reaction score