some help need please

punkmechanic

diesel tech
Reaction score
I am new to the cummins part of this site as I currently have a 6.9 idi ford. I have been thinking of upgrading to a cummins at some point (possibly sooner than later) and have been looking at what the conversion will cost. I know that it is expensive and will likely cost more than my original budget.

That said is there anyone in the Portland Oregon area that would be willing to let me ride in or even test drive their 12 valve? I work for a ford dealership and have driven a couple f550's with 24 valves and they seemed limited in their powerband, but Im not sure what the rear end gears where (likely 4.56 or better).

I would like to know how a similiar truck to what mine will be runs. I currently have 3.55 gears, a zf5, and a turbo 6.9. I am looking at leaving the trans and gears as is, and putting a cummins out front. Im looking at the early cummins or a 12 valve for cost and ease to work on.

Im not looking for a hopped up, smoke spewing beast. I want to know what a stock or just over stock cummins is gonna do in a crew cab f350 flatbed with a manual trans and 3.55 or possibly 4.10 gears.

Thanks in advance for any replies or help.

Justin

motox tech

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Holy crap, I wanna see many pics. Was thinking same thing on my 94 crew cab, but diapers limit the budget. Cant answer any of your questions, but hope you decide to go on this plan. Keep us posted.
BTW gonna have to ad some leafs to the front. LoL!!

punkmechanic

diesel tech
Reaction score
I dont think the 5.9 weights more than the 6.9. Not sure though. I would think they would be simaliar if not the same. Anyone know what a dressed 5.9 weighs?

Justin

jperecko

Diesel Ape
Reaction score