1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Intermittent "engine"light

Discussion in '6.9L IH & 7.3L IDI Diesels' started by Diesel8873ne, Jun 8, 2019.

  1. Diesel8873ne

    Diesel8873ne Full Access Member

    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Location:
    Mass
    88 f250hd 2wd 7.3 w/zf5 and banks turbo

    Recently after my turbo install the "engine" light will come on sometimes on startup sometimes for no reason driving down the road. And most of the time it goes out on its own or on a downshift.

    The oil pressure sensor is relocated to the oil feed side of turbo.

    I figured its a bad sensor just dont know the location or what else it might be.
     
  2. bbjordan

    bbjordan Snow Monkey

    Posts:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    273
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta
    It could be a poor connection on the oil pressure sensor. It could be a poorly grounded ops too. Did you use teflon tape on the ops or the ground path for the ops?
     
  3. Diesel8873ne

    Diesel8873ne Full Access Member

    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Location:
    Mass
    Ops is from the po of the turbo left it in the feed side and just plugged my wire in. Not sure where it grounds.

    My ops broke into pieces when i took it off the truck
     
  4. Thewespaul

    Thewespaul Supporting Vendor Supporting Member

    Posts:
    7,771
    Likes Received:
    5,978
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Location:
    Bulverde, Texas
    The sensor is bad, you need to replace it.
     
  5. Diesel8873ne

    Diesel8873ne Full Access Member

    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Location:
    Mass
    Cool thank you, motorcraft only item?
     
  6. fraree

    fraree Full Access Member

    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Location:
    Inland. Australia
    I have a similar question, my orange "engine" light has stayed illuminated since all my work was completed. What connection or sensor should I look for ? night dash.jpg
    My speedo reads in kilometres per hour too ;)
     
  7. bbjordan

    bbjordan Snow Monkey

    Posts:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    273
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta
    Can you post a picture of the sending unit?
     
  8. Thewespaul

    Thewespaul Supporting Vendor Supporting Member

    Posts:
    7,771
    Likes Received:
    5,978
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Location:
    Bulverde, Texas
    Oil pressure sensor. You can get it at any parts store, motorcraft is always best.
     
  9. fraree

    fraree Full Access Member

    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Location:
    Inland. Australia
    In the USA maybe but unfortunately not in Australia
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2019
  10. fraree

    fraree Full Access Member

    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Location:
    Inland. Australia
    Thanks, now I know where to look ! Nothing much for these trucks is readily available here in Australia & anything which is, is 3 times what it's worth.:eek: Currently our exchange rate is .69 USD cost us $1Au :oops:
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2019
  11. fraree

    fraree Full Access Member

    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Location:
    Inland. Australia
    OPS out here $115Au
     
  12. Cubey

    Cubey Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    220
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Location:
    USA
    My F250 does it. It's directly related to the worthless factory oil pressure gauge in my case. At idle, if the gauge drops to or below the left side line, ENGINE comes on. The gauge waves around there at idle when at full operating temperature, making the light come and go. It has a mechanical oil pressure gauge which reads normally, so I just ignore the engine light. That's why a previous owner put the oil pressure gauge, the factory gauge made them think it had a problem.
     
  13. fraree

    fraree Full Access Member

    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Location:
    Inland. Australia
    Spent the money, fitted up the new sensor, light is still on. :eek::(
    Put the code reader through the system, only code which came up P0237, something to do with the turbo "Turbo boost sensor A circuit Low Input" :dunno
     
  14. Thewespaul

    Thewespaul Supporting Vendor Supporting Member

    Posts:
    7,771
    Likes Received:
    5,978
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Location:
    Bulverde, Texas
    If you can read obd2 codes you don’t have an idi, you have a powerstroke which is a completely different setup.
     
  15. 79jasper

    79jasper Chickenhawk

    Age:
    27
    Posts:
    16,531
    Likes Received:
    1,494
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Location:
    Collinsville, Oklahoma
    Yep, powwrstroke.
    Replace the map sensor.

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page