zf5 swap

haubert

Reaction score
I have a 93 7.3idi swapped out the e40d with a zf5 also installed the single mass flywheel clutch conversion kit. getting ready to instal the clutch brake assy. my question is im not sure if theres a particular slave cyl that I need for the single mass. I have a master cyl slave assy from a 91 and one from a 95 power stroke any ideas thanks

ToughOldFord

The Cold Glow-Plug
Reaction score
No, all the IDI manual's use the same slave, T18/T19/ZF, and flywheel doesn't matter, same slave.

I'm not sure, (no personal experience here), but I believe the early PS stuff works as well.

IDIoit

MachinistFabricator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
No, all the IDI manual's use the same slave, T18/T19/ZF, and flywheel doesn't matter, same slave.

I'm not sure, (no personal experience here), but I believe the early PS stuff works as well.

sorry buddy im gonna have to shoot you down on this one!

there are 2 different styles!

one is a U shape, thats held in by a bolt, like the one that came off my T-19, and there is another one that has a catch on the back side.
i made the mistake of using the U shaped one on my ZF5 with the other style.
the slave will pop out if you do not drill it and install a bolt.

i drilled the ear with a 5/16 bit and installed a bolt and it has not happened again.
these are specific to the trans itself, the fly wheel dont matter.
both will work, one with a lill bit of modifying.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Stock-C...ar:1990|Make:Ford&hash=item20c15b2c3a&vxp=mtr
^^ thats the only slave i could find....

look closely at the ear for this zf5.
https://images.search.yahoo.com/ima...yhs-mozilla-001&hspart=mozilla&hsimp=yhs-001#

Last edited:

ToughOldFord

The Cold Glow-Plug
Reaction score