Which turbo do I have?

cubinzkid

Reaction score
Hey guys, i'm curious as to how I would tell which ATS turbo my truck has? Wanting to find out if its wastegated, or not, and which series it is. I'm new to diesels, but have been working on gas engines for a while, but i've never played with turbos on a gasser. My airfilter box looks like this
You must be registered for see images attach
Dont know if that helps. This is a picture I got off the internet, as my phone takes horrible pictures in the dark. I can post actual pictures of my turbo tomorrow. I can answer any other questions that could help. Thanks guys!

Black dawg

Reaction score
if your exhaust housing is like the one in the picture, it is an 088. the 085 downpipe is cast seperately from the exhaust housing.

cubinzkid

Reaction score
It looks like the one in the picture. And, I don't think its wastegated. I don't build boost until i'm up in the higher RPM (2000-up) and even then I barely reach 10 PSI at redline under load.

bike-maker

Full Access Member
Reaction score
This is about the 4th turbo setup I've seen like this - I have one too.
Appears to be a 088 kit, but with the 085 air box.
I'm thinking maybe when ATS first came out with the 088 kit, they used the older 085 air box?
10 psi sounds about right; if you want to hear the turbo whistle, throw that airbbox in the scrap pile and fab up a cold air intake for it. Makes a huge difference in the sound.

david85

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yup. 088 with 085 airbox. Same setup I have. Over all not a great system from my experience. Its better than nothing, but mine hits a wall somewhere near 8 PSI. 5 PSI is where its happy but don't expect to see anything smoke free below 2000 RPM.

.....wait...is that a 70s ford in that photo?? Nice! (SQUIRREL!!!LOL)

79jasper

Chickenhawk
Reaction score
Sounds like his is boosting good.
Does look like a older truck.
Like to see what's going on with those batteries also.
And is that the tall narrow radiator?