Water in Fuel Light, what does it mean?

Oldhenry1

Reaction score
Searched this, results are all over the map. I'm new to the 7.3IDI(and Diesels period). My new to me truck (1991 7.3IDI 4x4) has the Water in fuel Light on. It wasn't on when I got it about a month ago. What does it mean? What should I check/replace? It's winter here in the Real Washington(not the one with all the hot air) but it doesn't really get very cold here(below freezing lately). I'm looking for a place to start looking. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

riotwarrior

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
What does the Water in fuel light mean?

Generally speaking it means there is water in the fuel. It is a sensor on bottom of filter cap.

I would suggest replacing filter if you do not know age of it. If you do knkw age of it maybe open the drain on bottom...the proverbial knurled knob...it is to drain out water..tighten it up drive see if light goes out.

If not perhaps replace fuel filter and when doing so clean out the base cap well a d ensure no crud or water is left in it.

JM7.3CW

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score