replace head gaskets 6.9 diesel

Riley

Reaction score
Thinking of replacing the head gaskets on my 6.9 in an 1987 F-250 with 114,000 miles on it because these seems to be a slight coolant leak on the rear drivers side. How much problem to do this with the engine in the truck, and approximately what do those heads weight?

I am also considering putting on a turbo kit due the the high altitude driving I do with this truck, so I assume I should either replace the bolts or put in studs?

I'm new to these engines so I don't want to do anything I will regret (have to pay for) later.

david85

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The heads are 100 lbs each, so you will need a hoist or helper to remove and install them. The ARP studs near the firewall will have to be installed with the head because they are longer than the stock head bolts. I would recommend installing heads studs if you plan on installing a turbo even in the distant future. The are reusable and if you ever do get a turbocharger, its really not that much to pay for some piece of mind.

If your coolant is confirmed to be coming from the head gasket, than its best to replace it as soon as you can. Diesels run such high combustion pressure that any breach of the fire ring of the head gasket can cause erosion of the head and block mating surfaces. The longer you wait, the worse it could get. One way of knowing if the fire ring has been breached is if its consistently building pressure (that does not go away on cool down) in the cooling system and blowing bubbles out the recovery tank.

Due to clearance problems at the rear of the engine bay, some recommend pulling the whole engine to do the head gaskets. ARP also recommends going through the torque sequence up to 6 times to maximize the clamping force and minimize the friction in the bolt threads. Either way, you are probably looking at 3 solid days of work assuming you have everything you need in front of you.

6.9poweredscout

Bleeds IH red...
Reaction score