is this a crazy idea?

razorback

Full Access Member
Reaction score
ok, i know most of the turbos on our idis are about 8psi with a max of 10.. but my turbo is considerably bigger than a banks, its around the s400 size andi am afraid of getting too much boost. ( i can already hear turbine whine around 1500rpm in P and N) so i want to protect myself and set it so it cant go over 14 or 15 psi.. i know normally a wastegate is done to do this..but while at work i was looking at some of our well accessories (im a plumbing dept manager at lowes) and saw we carry one for 75 psi.. that got me thinking.. so i searched and found one that was 15psi preset 35ish bucks).. now would this work for what i want to do, in theory it should do the same thing correct? or do i really just need to get a wastegate?

if i have to get a wastegate, where would i install it? (intake, exhaust, etc etc)

and yes i know putting a turbo the size of a s400 is crazy in itself.. :)

sassyrel

Reaction score
theres lot of em on ebay----just type in blowoff valve. and make sure its large enough!!!

91f2504x4

Full Access Member
Reaction score
You need a wastegate, a blow off valve (in the sense of turbochargers) vents the inlet charge air to allow the turbo to continue to spin between shifts, instead of barking and slowing down. A wastegate which is what you want, vents excess exhaust gas past the turbine wheel, so that you do not overboost the engine or go past the efficiency range of the turbo.

I think that you are thinking of a pop off valve, similar to what is on a hot water heater, don't use this, it will not be very efficient at dumping a large volume of charge air, you need to just get a external wastegate if you are concerned with overboosting your engine.