help with break problem

ramon f350

Reaction score
help with brake problem

well my new drama with the truck is the brakes. I have had problems with the pedal sinking while holding the brakes so I thought it was the master cylinder. I bought a new one yesterday and put it on and it did not fix the problem. I bench bled the master and then bled all 4 wheels and did not get any air out of the lines. after that not fixing the problem I figured that it had to be the brake booster so I stopped and picked on up this afternoon after school. I threw it on and again it did not fix the problem so i thought well maybe i got a bad master cylinder so i tear it down again and go get a new one on the warranty. bench bleed the new one and bleed the brakesa at all four wheels to no avail. does anyone have any ideas at what else it could be I am really at wits end here

thanks for all of your help in advance
Ramon

Last edited:

EvergreenRanch

In Transition
Reaction score
have you tried adjusting the brake shoes with a screwdriver on the back of the drum housing (little hole at 6'oclock)? how about propotioning valve (im pretty sure our trucks have one but not 100%)?

olivera149

Reaction score
are you hearing any clunks in MC area or near the booster? There is a spec on the length of the pushrod on the booster that engages the MC, i dont know it off the top of my head and my little notebook that i jot down all the info on is no where to be found.

dsblack

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Mine was solved by changing the RABS sensor in the rear diff. less than $50.

Mine was solid for a second then would start driftng down.

Good luck

tuckerd1

WAR DAMN EAGLE!
Reaction score
From Ford Tech Pub:

Manual Adjustment with Drums Installed

Adjust the single anchor brake by turning self adjusting screw located between the lower ends of the shoes.
1. Raise the vehicle until the tires clear the floor. Install safety stands under the axle.