Cavitation?/Head Gasket?

sasquatch81

Reaction score
So I have already posted about this once in the 911 section but I've done a bit more digging and need some advice.

History: 94 F 250 7.3L Turbo 228,000 miles. Pickup had been running fine, has always burned through oil. No other major concerns. I'm a shade tree mechanic at best but highly mechanically able. I have been using sca since I got the truck at 210,000

I pulled out of the gas station the other day and got on the accelerator to merge with traffic. I noticed a bit louder knock after I was off the throttle. I pulled on to a side street and the knock just got worse. I look in the rearview and the truck starts spewing white smoke. I limped home about 1/2 mile. I checked the oil level and it had risen at least a couple quarts. I know this because I had just filled with a little oil the night before. I checked the radiator fluid level and it was down at least a gallon. I had not checked the radiator in a couple weeks but have never been low before.

Today I pulled the truck in my garage and noticed that I have developed a serious oil leak that I can not definitively locate but it is coming from the back topside of the engine. It is quite wet with oil at the turbo oil line connection at the block. It has always leaked a small amount from here so not sure if that is the source. There is oil spatter against the fire wall in that area also. I drained some oil from the pan after it set for a bit. I clearly have coolant in my oil. I removed the air cleaner and steam was pouring from the CDR valve hose that normally connects to the intake. There was a lot of oil with maybe a little moisture in the intake of the turbo.

I'm guessing that this is a head gasket or cavitation. My question is there any way to tell the difference. Also would you agree that this is the likely scenario. What would you do next if you were in this situation?