Cooling problems????

circumsizzle

Reaction score
My '89 Dodge D250 LE 5.9 Cummins L6 is getting quite warm. It is the first time towing a heavy RV trailer. The temp guage is of the sort that has no actual temp number. My question is this: How warm is the second point just below the H at the hottest point on the guage, and is this normal after just tackling a steep hill towing a kinda heavy RV trailer?
This is my first time here and I look forward to picking ALL your brains in the future for upgrading my Cummins to get more torque. All advise will be GREATLY appreciated.

MIDNIGHT RIDER

Full Access Member
Reaction score
>>> PIN THAT FAN <<<

If you are running a clutched fan, that is the likely culprit.

It does no good to buy another new fan-clutch; we tried no less than seven new ones and not a winner in the bunch.

For years and years, I have been PINNING my fan-clutches, making them fully-locked direct-drive = no cooling issues then.

Recently, from SUMMIT RACING, I found a direct-drive fan-hub and new blades that fit the Cummins.

This brand-new direct-drive hub and blades are laying un-opened in my truck as we speak.

I will post back after I get them installed.

Another likely culprit is the automatic transmission cooler --- providing the truck is an auto.

The cooler on a Cummins is down low on the Starboard side of the engine-block and engine coolant circulates through it.

I am uncertain if there is also a cooler within the radiator, but I kinda think that there is.

If it is an auto, plumb in a BIG remote-mount self-fanned transmission cooler, plus a remote filter-head, along with the factory issue coolers. ;Sweet

MIDNIGHT RIDER

Full Access Member
Reaction score
>>> TEMPERATURE GAUGE <<<

Up high and aft, on the Larboard side of the engine, is the water-temperature sensor.

Plumb in a NPT TEE and nipple, such that the long leg of the TEE is lined up with the sensor hole.