Aye, Newbie here.

TUD5

What is a turbo?
Reaction score
I should introduce myself first, I am Martin and I live in Scotland (we say things like aye, eh and aboot. Ken?)

Having issues starting my old IDI engined car. It's tiny 4 cylinder, 93CI TU5 series diesel built by PSA. Covered about 150,000 miles so not a huge amount.

anyways, it's very hard to start from cold (especially at 32F or less) Sometimes cranking for 15 seconds before it fires (after a 20 second pre-heat). When it fires, it starts and runs on all 4 smoothly. there's no spluttering - I'll check the resistance of the glowplugs but I don't think they'll be at fault. It's had a new battery and the battery is good under load.

However, recently, I have changed the cylinder head gasket and the cylinder head itself. My old head had a sticking inlet valve and a cracked pre-combustion chamber on another cylinder. H.G was also spewing oil down the side of the block.

So, cleaned the deck of the block, fitted a new gasket and head. It's got tappets and shims so I spent a few hours measuring all the clearances and swapping shims about - using some from the old head too) and they are all just about in tolerance.

When I re-assembled everything. All earthing points and exposed electrical posts were cleaned. The car turns over very fast compared to before. I'm not sure if this is compression related, or because I cleaned all the terminals on the starter etc.

I haven't changed the fuel filter, although I did drain the gooey watery **** from it - I will change that soon anyway.

tldr; - because I think the problem is here