Old truck - New owner. It needs some love.

Ryan Cowper

Reaction score
I just burned through my first tank of fuel on my 1989 f250 7.3 N\A M\T. So long as the Oracle is correct in suggesting that I have a 18.2 galon auxiliary tank - I'm gettin less than 9 mpg unloaded. 3\4 of this tank of fuel was highway miles @ 60 mph. Good lord I hope it gets better as I fix things up. With fuel prices the way they are, If this keeps up, I'm fixing to be out of money before I even get started. I'm going through things, trying to service what I can as I go. I have no experience working on diesel trucks and I got this truck to learn, so that's what I'm fit to do.

I can't find a service manual. I got the Haynes gas engine manual to tide me over with until I find a good one. I'm sure I'm not the first one to wonder why the Chilton's issued both a gas and gas\diesel repair manuals under the same #26664. There's gotta be something better anyhow... recommendations? Is there an online manual or does anyone have a digital manual they could send me?

I can tell already it's a good thing I'm single because I'm about to spend all of my time and money getting this old thing going. I started putting together a list of issues:

When I cycle the glow plugs in the morning, after the "wait to start" indicator turns off, my emergency brake and rear anitlock dash lights flash twice. Wait a few seccons and flash twice again. They don't actually flash all the way off, just dim and bright, dim and bright. They do it a few times and return to normal (well... the rear antilock stays on, but I hear thats "normal") Is the flashing just batteries kicking on to cycle the glow plugs or is it some sort of indicative flash?

I just changed the oil and it looks fine. I checked the front and rear diff. Rear was dark brown and in need of a change. However, the front was a very dark green color and there's some metal shavings in there too. Anybody got thoughts about that?