Oil cooler rebuild for dummies!

gamudslinger88

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Whats up fellas. Im new here and just purchased my first diesel today from a friend of mine. I have helped him with this truck for sometime now and now I own it so its another prodject that needs finishing. Anyway I need the procedure for rebuilding the oil cooler on this 85 F250 with a 6.9 n/a. We pulled the old motor out becouse of water in the oil and oil in the water at operating temp. We thought it may have been the head gasket or a cracked block but the dang thang ran great. we pulled the motor and installed another 6.9 that was for sure good that he bought from another friend and wala the same thing. does this sound like the oil cooler to any of yall. I am new to the idi so any help would be great. also I just want to add that before purchasing this truck I looked on here for a good 2 weeks and this is a great site with tons of info on these badboys.

Camarogenius

Reaction score
Just subscribing to the thread. I'm going to have to rebuild the one on my F-800. Same basic design, just lots bigger.

jimraelee

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I sounds like a oil and water issue. If you have a oil cooler that uses coolant of rad to cool it... I dont know your application. I have seen this before where a oil cooler mixes with the coolant after warmed up. I would remove the two lines of the cooler and mate them together so the oil will still flow... and change your fluids, monitor this and see what happens. BY NO MEANS DRIVE IT HARD. the oil cooler is there for a reason, but could be bypassed temporarly. U could also get a replacment external cooler and plug it in.

gamudslinger88

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yea I dont think that you can bypass the oil cooler well I have not seen a kit to bypass the cooler. Anyone have any pics, I know that its just a few O rings but I would like a picture of the cooler and some directions/advice before tearing into her.

argve