just wondering

93blklightning

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm not going to go into detail on what I do for a living. I've done a lot of different things over the years, but I really enjoy what I'm pursuing as a career now. To make a long story short, I don't turn wrenches for a living anymore, only for myself and family or friends. I do however come in contact with many, many different types of vehicles, and people everyday. I see a little of everything, and I mean everything. Getting to the point, I know new, and newer vehicles are nice, even if almost all the '13 and up body styles are ugly (imho). With all the new computer controlled, and complex conveniences that are available in the newer vehicles, along with a warranty. Make it so easy to own with nothing to worry about. That is until the warranty is gone. Just think, ten years from now, when the warranty is long gone, the parts are still extremely expensive, and the factory (who ever it may be (Ford,GM,Chrystler,etc.), won't release the codes or license after market parts. What will you do? Buy another? My question is. as ridiculous as it may seem, would it be worth it, or would there be a market for a new type of vehicle, one that does have some computer controlled systems, but made for the customer. Of course you can have it serviced at the dealer, but it could also be easily maintained by the owner after the warranty is gone. Maybe this is just wishful thinking, but wouldn't it be nice if something "new and improved" really is, and not just a dealer only item, and disposable after the new one comes out.

C.J.

Full Access Member
Reaction score
We had 2 different Dodge Cummins go down this week at work. One was a '99 and the other was an '07. Both were due to sensors and such. My IDI won't win any races but even I (Someone who pays someone else to work on their truck) can figure things out thanks to websites like this.