Can't get in gear while running

94turboidi

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Okay I finally fixed all my little stuff on the truck this morning and went to back it up after I started it. I have a new master cylinder, slave cylinder, pressure plate, clutch, clutch fork. I bled it the other day and I think all the air is out, its moving the clutch fork at least an inch if not more so I figured that would be enough? This is a zf5 and 7.3 just so you know all the details. I don't know I guess I will try to bleed it more but I figured this would be enough movement. The clutch fork seems to be installed correctly its snapped into the pivot ball. My other parts were hard to get in gear also and it was barely moving the clutch fork, thats why I thought this would work fine with as far as its clutching. I hope I didn't do something wrong and have to take it all apart! This is my first manual trans but everything seems to be installed correctly. I have done plenty of engines, transmissions but no clutches until now.

flareside_thun

Reviving The General Tao
Reaction score
How are the clutch pedal bushings? I had to reclock my pedal to get my clutch to release. Can you put it into gear before starting it then start it and move around?

nyteshades

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Try pumping the clutch a few times, hold the pedal to the floor for 30 secs. Rinse and repeat. The clutch should get stiffer after a few cycles. I had similar issues when I replaced my slave and it took some normal use to finally get it completely bled.

jam0o0

Full Access Member
Reaction score
flareside - how did you reclock your petal? i think that might be the problem with mine. since after i replaced the bushings i had to push the clutch rod in to get it to line up with the stud on the arm.

hesutton

The Anti-Anderson
Supporting Member
Reaction score