Best place to return oil?

Sidewinded_idi

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I am going to be adding a bypass filter and oil cooler. Both will be run on seperate circuits but I'm trying to find the best place to return both. They will be fed off the 1/8 npt plugs on the block but I know the power strokes have a 3/8 plug that has no pressure a lot of people use as a return, do we have any similar plugs on our blocks? If not I'm simply planning to make a fitting to dump it into the oil fill cap. Both systems can share a return I'll install a T so they both use it

IDIBRONCO

IDIBRONCO
Reaction score
Where to return oil? when I was in Iraq as a civilian contractor, I wanted to dump our used oil into a sinkhole that opened up beside our shop, but wasn't allowed to do that. I thought it was recycling. Others didn't seem to see it that way so I guess I don't really know where to return oil. OOPS! Not what you were talking about. Sorry.

FORDF250HDXLT

The life of an Indian is like the wings of the air
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Plan your bypass but save doing an oil cooler.It wont have enough effect like your planning to make the money spent worthwhile.
You know you can go an easy 9k miles between oil changes with synthetic right? This is what I'm doing.

Macrobb

Full Access Member
Reaction score
There are some plugs at each end of the heads that go into the oil drain galleries, I believe?

The bigger ones are for coolant, but I'm pretty sure there are some around 3/8" with hex set screws in them.

If you end up pulling the oil pan for any reason, I'd look into welding a nice big port on one side for a drain back.

You could also do the same thing with one of the valve covers - just install a port into the top, and drain all the oil into there. It'll drain down into the block from there.