Battery terminal protectors

fuzzy1626

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Does anyone use and recommend these felt protectors? I have never used them before but was asked again yesterday when I bought new batteries (doubled in price since 07 "wth":mad:) if I wanted them.

riotwarrior

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Does anyone use and recommend these felt protectors? I have never used them before but was asked again yesterday when I bought new batteries (doubled in price since 07 "wth":mad:) if I wanted them.

Never used em...never will....

Just sayin....

Al

Reaction score
They keep the corrosion from getting up into the cable terminal connection, but the better bet is to keep the corrosion from happening in the first place. Use the spray or the grease, available at any parts store. Felt pads are OK for extra insurance, but I wouldn't solely rely on them.

Mike

typ4

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Batteries have gone up because there is very little lead mining going on. I use spray and felt and antisieze on the bolts.

f-two-fiddy

Reaction score
I love those little felt dealies. They work great for keeping corrosion off the terminals. My 93 IDI has them on there, my 93 gasser doesn't. One has nice clean battery terminals, the other has fuzz growing on them constantly. I just ordered a set of custombatterycables.com cables for the gasser, and have a new set of felt washers waiting to go on when I change the cables.

G. Mann

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I use them, but I put in new ones every year when I do my annual inspection.

Also mix up some common baking soda and water and keep a cheap paint brush to brush down the cable connections every time I see even a spot of corrosion. That and a good spray from the garden hose to flush the baking soda "stuff" away after it's done it's work and the connections stay Clean, Bright, and Tight.