1991 f350 crew cab project.

siegler

Reaction score
I have been running and upgrading my 1990 f250 (see sig) for about 7 years now. Unfortunately the single cab leaves something to be desired when it comes to having a family....... So I bought a crew cab f350 for $1200, it's in good condition, except that it has a siezed 7.5l Gasser in it.

Figured it would be a good candidate for receiving my f250's heart. And I though this would be a good place to post my project and ask for help.

Here is the plan:
1.Tear apart the front end of the f350 to remove the engine and transmission as one unit.
Everything in the engine bay will likely have to go, looks way too different from the diesel engine bay.
2. Tear apart the f250 front end in a similar fashion.
3. Add type4's cam and an ats 088 turbo while the engine is out.
4. Put engine into the f350 with a zf5 instead of my t19.
5. Put the diesel instrument cluster into the f350 and add a piller gauge pod while I'm at it.
6. Swap my locker over to the f350.

Before starting I decided to do a compression test and crank case pressure test on the engine to make sure I didn't need to do more work on it while it's out.
Compression looked pretty good.
1: 420
2: 440
3: 450
4: 470
5: 450
6: 440
7: 455
8: 440

Crank case pressure was 5 inches of water column at 3300rpm using a home made tester. Navistar's spec is 6 inches of water column at rated rpm (3300 rpm in my case.) I was hoping for a better result, but I can't complain about being in spec I guess.

Any other tests I should do? Or do my current results mean I should have a trouble free engine for years?
Is there anything else I should consider doing while both trucks are in pieces?

Thanks for reading my long winded post!

cpdenton

Truck needs paint.
Supporting Member
Reaction score