Glow Plugs

gilend

Reaction score
I have a 1990 F-350, diesel 7.3 idi. Winter is coming I would like to test my glow plugs. My question is where exactly are they, and what is the best way to test them. Pics would be nice for the location of the glow plugs, I am new to working on my own trucks/diesels. Thanks so much for any help.

flareside_thun

Reviving The General Tao
Reaction score
Testing them is crazy easy. Get a test light, hook the clamp to the positive side of the battery, unhook the glowplug connector from each glow plug as you move from one to the other and touch the tip of it the probe end of the test light. If the test light lights up, the GP is good, if not, it needs to be replaced. My personal preference is to replace GP's as a set instead of individually.

Here's a short video using a multimeter to check for continuity.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=trEaaoktcs0

lotzagoodstuff

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Very easy to test. Get yourself an ohm meter or a test light, very simple to find them as there are 8 of them pointed straight up at your with a push to connect plug on each one. I'm sure there's a link on here, do a search.

lotzagoodstuff

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I believe the glow plugs should test 2 ohms or less, but if they are open you'll get no continuity (or no light if you are using a test light) and that will tell you what's wrong.

By the way: only Ford/Motorcraft/Beru glow plugs. Don't use anything else as they have a tendency to swell and the tips can break off causing you a major headache. If you find some bad ones, try to identify what make they are as you will need to be very careful when pulling them if they are Autolites or anything besides Berus.

I am local, if you have any problems give me a shout as it only takes about ten minutes to check your gp's (especially if your truck is not a turbo).

Good luck, should be very easy for you.

gandalf

Reaction score