Should I buy? 1994 F-350 IDI Turbo Reg Cab Manual (Hard Start)

507Sledz

Reaction score
Newbie, should I buy? 94 F-350 IDI Turbo Reg Cab Manual (Starts hard in warm weather)

Hello Everyone,

I am brand new to this forum! I have been looking at buying a plow truck and I have had my mind set on a 7.3 f-350. Up until about 3 weeks ago I thought all 7.3l where powerstrokes, I have now learned they are not, which brings me to oilburners. I do not have much experiance with ford's as I have been raised with chevys, however I am not new to diesels, (Grew up on a farm, Heavy equipment operator now, have a duramax, I am no diesel mechanic but like to thing I have an understanding of the motors) anyway...

There is a 1994 IDI Turbo Reg Cab Manual Tranny up for grabs with 150,000 Miles on it, he is asking $3000 Cash. The bad, the owner says it starts hard! seems to be a pretty common problem with the IDI's, but seems to be a problem with any old diesel too. My fear is that the motor could have a concaved cylinder wall, which I have read can be an issue with these 7.3's because IH just bored it up from the 6.9's, the owner also does not know what type of anti-freeze he puts in the truck, he tells me he purchased it from his father in law in 2000 and has been a farm truck ever sense.

This truck starts ******* a 70 degree day, he says when he gets it started however it runs fine and seems to start fine the rest of the day, but when he lets it sit over night it starts hard again in the morning. It has new return lines, some glow plugs and injectors, I noticed in the picture he sent me of the motor it only has 1 battery not 2. I cant think of anything else, what are your guys recommendations, should I buy it? Anything else I should ask or be looking for?