Trans Temp too cold?

david85

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Looking for some opinions here. I rebuilt the E4OD transmission a couple years ago and it's been working fine. At the time, I installed a large transmission cooler and bypassed the rad cooler completely. The failure that brought about the overhaul was an internal assembly error leading to line pressure loss. Overheating was not the root cause.

I've been wheeling the truck on logging roads for a couple years now and figured it was a good idea to have a trans temp gauge for some of those slow, sustained climbs.

The temp sensor is on the cooler line just before it enters the cooler (Autometer Gauge Kit). I sometimes see temps climb to 180F after a 1 hour climb, but for normal driving it rarely touches 130F. On the way home last night, outside temps were around 32F and the trans held around 100F while cruising at 55 MPH. I'm not sure if this will cause physical harm to the transmission but this is probably costing some MPGs from thicker oil.

I'm thinking of adding a thermostatic oil cooler bypass to bring the transmission temperature to a steady 170F.

What do you folks think?

Rdnck84_03

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I wouldn't get too worried about the temps being low. After I put the 6.0 cooler in my wife's superduty it was running around 90 -100 degrees on the highway when it's below freezing. It has been fine running like that for about 6years now. Can get temps up around 175 on a decent climb when loaded with ambient temps at 100+.

I don't remember if the trans temps went up any after I replaced the thermostat towards the end of last winter because the heater wouldn't get warm either.

James

franklin2

Full Access Member
Reaction score