Think my tranny is in limp mode?

Figor

Reaction score
I haven’t used my truck in about 8 months. Took off in it Saturday pulling a trailer. After a while I realized the odometer and Speedo were not working. Then the tranny started shifting real hard. I didn’t have time to mess with it because I was on a tight schedule this weekend. I just parked it. Is there a fuse that controls these? Would that cause the tranny to go into limp mode and if so will replacing the fuse bring it out of limp mode or does it have to be reflashed or something? I have no experience with this type tranny. Thanks in advance.

Nero

HD Diesel nut
Reaction score
Is your overdrive light flashing? That means it's either in limp mode or has an active fault.

BeastMaster

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Most likely, your problem is in the circuit feeding your speedometer. Your speedometer tells your transmission controller how fast you are going.

Without knowing how fast you are going, your transmission controller goes into limp mode.

Check the VSS circuit... (Vehicle Speed Sensor).

You have come to the right place. A lot of people here are very familiar with your woe. It's usually a bad or dirty VSS sensor. And most likely your transmission is unharmed.

If you were towing, have you been having any wear/grinding issue with your rear end? I had an issue with mine where the differential oil had become contaminated with metal shavings, which fouled and magnetically short circuited my vss sensor, which on my van is mounted on the differential and picks the speed signal from magnetically sensing gear teeth in the differential. Upon removing my sensor, it had appeared to have grown a head of hair, but it was metal filings. But my problem was elsewhere, in the speedometer module itself, and had to be replaced.

Last edited:

Figor

Reaction score