replacing lifter, i think

snoredog

Reaction score
Well me and dad took the truck to Allstar International off I-75 to get an idea what the problem was. Did all the tests I found on here and it looks to be be exhaust valve related, not the injectors. But I'm new to these engines so i dont know enough about them to be sure of anything. Tapping sound from under the passenger side valve cover increases in loudness and frequency with rpm increase. Anyways the service manager thought it was valve related when he came out to troubleshoot for us. My dad knows the guy and trusts him, but I dont know him good enough to take his word for it and stick it in the shop for $80 an hour. Another mechanic was on a smoke break and walked over and swears up and down its a lifter. He said something about a snap ring coming off or breaking loose and letting stuff slap the rocker arm or something like that. I have never seen the inside of one of these engines so I dont know what exactly he is talking about. So the service mangaer did some calculations and figured it was gonna run around $300 to fix everything if the lifter was the problem. I dont have much money to spare but I'm gonna have some free time later in the week to work on it if I knew what to do. I have done some moderate gas engine work but nothing on a diesel. Any diagrams or pictures or instructions would be greatly appreciated. I am driving my blue truck so there is no major hurry, but gas is killing me. Any and all help would come in handy. If there is a walkthrough or guide to replacing a lifter or anything related to it, that would be awesome.
Thanks in advance

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score