PSD swap in my 92.

BigRigTech

Diesel junky
Reaction score
Been a while since I posted here.....:D....I'm junking a 98 E350 for the 7.3 that has 201,000KM - runs very well for $250:sly. I'm putting it in my 92 F350 cab and chassis 4x4 to get some more power over my 7.3 IDI. The truck weigh's 9000lbs with my 9ft plow on the nose. I took the cab off the van today and found a tag on the engine for a 99 model engine. I was wondering if it has the single or split shot injectors? What CC would they be and which turbo do I have? I'm using this with my re-drilled 460 ZF-5 and a 13" upgrade LUK clutch kit.

I know there are some differences between the truck and van stuff but as some of you know I'm a licensed truck mechanic by trade so fabrication and wiring mod's are no big deal for me. I plan to simplify the van harness and re-use as much as I can to save some $$$...I'm going to mod the rad support to take a 7.3 PSD rad or I also have two V10 rad's here and two V10 rad supports to chop up for lower mounts. Right now the truck is running a thick core 300 six rad which just keeps the IDI cool and fits the old 460 gas rad support....Barely...LOL....(fast fix when my old 85 style diesel rad blew up plowing snow)

You must be registered for see images attach

Kalashnikov

Full Access Member
Reaction score
How bad was it to redrill that zf5? I've been thinking about it for a 2wd powerstroke I'm getting that's an auto. I have a couple 4x4 460 ZF5s around.

IIRC 99 and up is single shot but don't quote me. I'm just getting into PSDs myself.

EDIT: 140cc? Stage 2s are like 150cc...:confused:

79jasper

Chickenhawk
Reaction score
How bad was it to redrill that zf5? I've been thinking about it for a 2wd powerstroke I'm getting that's an auto. I have a couple 4x4 460 ZF5s around.

IIRC 99 and up is single shot but don't quote me. I'm just getting into PSDs myself.

EDIT: 140cc? Stage 2s are like 150cc...:confused: