New to making WMO+Watf

njdub

Reaction score
Ive been reading up on WMO and Watf for probably over a year now and am finally ready to start the process. I am a VW mechanic so I have access to my own
controlled supply of WMO and Watf (i.e I will drain it straight from the cars into a jug so there will be no risk of contaminating with water or antifreeze etc). I have a 55 gallon drum and am getting ready to purchase a centrifuge (most likely one from PAbiodiesel). I plan on filtering through a 10 micron to get out all the big junk then centrifuging.

I have a few questions though. How many inches above the bottom of the tank should I make a drain port to drain off all the sludge and debris?
Does anyone have a picture of their centrifuge setup? Or if someone had a crude drawing that would be nice too. Im a bit confused at how to hook it up 100%.
Also how long should I be centrifuging waste trans fluid?

I will be running all of this on a 1986 vw jetta coupe 1.6d Ive already been running new transmission fluid at 20% in 2 tanks (I had a bunch of extra trans fluid
and wanted to see how it ran on it).

m67tang

Full Access Member
Reaction score
In my past experience, which is limited to about 5k+ miles, running tranny fluid is easy compared to WMO. Oil is usually much heavier. in my 55gallon drum I leave the bottom 3-4". Sorry no pics availble.

m67tang

Full Access Member
Reaction score
about the centrifuge-