New From Arizona!

cllake

Reaction score
Hello all!

My name is Cody and Im from Goodyear, Az.

Im about to pick up a 96 f250 7.3/auto, it already has the D60 conversion!:love:

I am by no means a mechanic but I know my way around a gas motor.. LOL! Whole new ball game here. What should I be looking for when checking out the truck?(Mechanical Wise) Of course the obvious, idle, smooth shifts, frame cracks/damage, etc. What specifically should I be checking for?

Thanks!

-Cody

OLDBULL8

Good Morning Ya'll.
Supporting Member
Reaction score
That's about it. But look down in the valley pan for oil towards the rear. IPR, ICP all these sensor's can leak along with the HPOP and Fuel drain valve. Ask if the SCA's have been kept up in the coolant. If they don't know what that is, then probably not. If it's from a dealer they wouldn't know. Depending on the mileage, might be best to just change the coolant, drain and flush, then replace coolant with the SCA already add to it. SCA= Supplemental Coolant Additive, prevents cavitation, eating away of the cylinder wall's.

Here is some good info below.

http://www.guzzle7pt3.com/maint.php
http://www.forddoctorsdts.com/articles/article-05-10.php
http://www.thedieselstop.com/faq/9497faq/maint/ecsd/cmp.php3
http://www.forddoctorsdts.com/publi...49873DITDirectInjectionTurbochargedDiesel.pdf

Last edited:

argve

Resident Fruitcake
Reaction score
Welcome aboard. Oldbull nailed it pretty good. You will find that working on a diesel is actually easier because you don't have to worry about if you are getting spark.

cllake

Reaction score
Thanks for the tips guys. Ill be on my way out to Ca tomorrow to take a look at it!

apextrans

What Log Book????
Reaction score
See if you can start it cold & look for blue smoke on start up. A little white smoke is ok as long as it clears up pretty quick. You don't wanna see blue smoke......

cllake

Reaction score
Well......

Just got home with my new(to me) truck! This is a beast and runs strong!