Need injectors on 93 7.3 turbo idi

Diesel Boy

Reaction score
Hi everyone I just bought my second 7.3 idi and I love it. I'm new to Oil Burners and would like your guys opinions on what I should get for injectors and what's the different codes for. I think mine now has G code injectors. Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lindstromjd

Black Sheep
Reaction score
General consensus is brand new (not rebuilt) Delphi BB codes.

Different codes are for different pop pressures, and different spray nozzles.

lindstromjd

Black Sheep
Reaction score
Ok thanks for getting back to me so quick. So how does BB code injectors differ from G code

BB's are set for 1800 psi or thereabouts from the factory, and G's are set for 2200, I think. There are more experienced people than me when it comes to injectors, like Typ4. They can chime in on the specifics

Will I get more hp out of them?

Just from them? No. But they WILL bring you back closer to factory specs for HP, since the older the injection system is, the less fuel it pushes to the cylinders. Less fuel = less power. Injectors only deliver the fuel to the cylinder that's been pushed to them by the injection pump. New injectors will run better than old ones, and deliver the fuel more reliably. If you want more power, you need an upgraded injection pump. The two best known performance pump builders are R+D, and Conestoga. There are plenty of other good builders, and even more NOT good builders. Keep an eye on who you buy from.

lindstromjd

Black Sheep
Reaction score
Ok the guy I bought this truck from has just put a brand new IP on it before I bought but he said it will need injectors

They're generally replaced at the same time, because they both have about the same life expectancy. To replace one without the other is kind of just asking for the other to wear out even faster. Sounds weird, but it makes sense.