It's ALIVE.......

apextrans

What Log Book????
Reaction score
Well after a long weekend, sore back & finger tips (from twisting hundreds of bolts by hand), it lit off at about 3:30 Monday morning. Things went very well but I need to say this first. I can't thank Mike (tonkadoctor) enough for making the drive up here to give me a hand. I would still be wrestling the motor into the truck & would have run into MANY more roadblocks without his experience & help. Mel, thanks for handling the heads & Joe, thanks for the crane. I'll return it asap. Thanks also to everyone who chimed in when I had questions & needed advice. Enough with the grammy speech.

I've never done this before but according to Mike, it went pretty well. I made a few mistakes along the way, which have resulted in a few leaks, but nothing major. 2 water leaks & a tranny cooler line leaking where I modified it for the 6.0 cooler. Simple enough to fix. The rebuild kit bags aren't labeled too well, so I switched the gaskets between the thermostat housing & lower rad hose. Inexperience is to blame. Both leaked & I got one left to fix along with the tranny line. Still have to hang the exhaust, switch the brackets to the new bumper & hang it & modifiy my grill for the billet insert. Boost & oil pressure seem to be ok & it's not running hot. We forgot to fill the oil rails prior to install so it took a little cranking to get it going. Other than that, no problems to speak of except for the endless hunt for 8mm, 10mm, & 13mm sockets that seem to walk away on there own.

We took it for a spin this morning & it seems OK. Whistles REAL good with open exhaust!! Mike is on his way home & I gotta go fix some leaks.;Sweet

pafixitman

Reaction score
:thumbsup: ;Sweet :thumbsup:

Help is very nice to have but the aches, pains and busted knuckles will go away and the memory of doing it yourself will remain.