Help a newb.

nsjames

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I am a complete newbie to diesels and IDI motors.

I am very much contemplating buying a used Uhaul with 250K miles on the clock. It's a 1989 S1600 with the 7.3L motor and a spicer 5 spd.

I want to load my Jeep in the back and haul it around and get decent mileage. Guys that have done it say they get 10 MPG loaded or empty.

I read the buying one thread in the FAQs but still have some questions.

The one I'm intresetd in says it's had the clutch replaced in the last 40K miles. Whta kind of life can be expected from it?
What kind of power does this motor make? I know it's going to be slow, I can live with cruising at 60 all day, I'd like it not to drop below 45 on the long grades.
The 7.3 seems stupid simple to maintain and repair, so not too many questions on that.
What's the RPM redline? I was going to put a tach in it, along with a pyro and proper water temp/oil pressure guages. Is a fuel pressure gauge something worth considering as well?
What's the best cruising RPM for fuel consumption. Truck has 4.33 gears and 225 19.5 tires.

Thankfully Uhaul ordered these things with hydroboost and discs at all 4 corners, so aside from generally just looking it over any hydroboost tips? Super secret places to check for leaking fluid?

Are there any strange differences between the ford IDI and the IH one? Special parts that are IH specific?
Thanks for any tips/tricks so I don't screw this all up and my wife gives me that look.

Last edited:

nsjames

Full Access Member
Reaction score
and a followup

I know that the IDI motors were known for the ability to run other things. I have used oil/and access to a bars fry oil, I would like to use it to offset the costs of the diesel when we go wheeling.