Heater hose for emergency fuel line

furfishgame

Reaction score
Got a crack in my rubber line comming into my left pump. Me being a noob i am took it off the wrap it in electrical tape to get me home and sucessfully messed the hose up beyond repair, and naturally the fuel line i have in my truck is the wrong size, but i have a couple feet of sylicone heater hose.. Curious if that would get me home till i can go to part store tomorrow. I heard diesel deteriorates heater hose, so not sure if its a good idea.

OLDBULL8

Good Morning Ya'll.
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Sure, anything in a emerg. situation. But heater hose is 5/8", the fuel hose is 3/8". How ya gonna clamp it? Unless you can use it over a piece of old hose on each end. The filter will catch any deterioration, if it's true silicone it will be OK.

riotwarrior

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Friction tape is a better friend than electrical tape.

The diesel woukd soooo dissolve the adhesive in seconds...

laserjock

Almost there...
Supporting Member
Reaction score
What OLDBULL said. You will need leave a piece of the old hose to use as a bushing. Heater hose is typically about 5/8 ID maybe a little smaller the OD on 3/8 rubber fuel line is usually about 1/2. You may need to wrap a couple loops of tape around it to make the heater hose fit tight enough. In this case you could use electrical tape if you don't have friction tape because by the time the fuel gets to it, you won't care about the adhesive. You just need the bulk of the material.

Good luck.

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
Really anything to get you home will work. Just don't think if it does not leak its good for a few weeks.

lotzagoodstuff

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score