Got one! '97 12valve - at last.

lucky

lucky
Reaction score
Hi All:
Been looking for one for quite some time. Got it on the weekend! '97 ( built 12/96) Club cab, 8' box, 4x4, auto, red/grey, grill guard, etc etc, near mint. 154,000 km. I hope I don't wear out my welcome with too many questions.

I'm on the KDP and am looking at a steering stabilizer, the one that provides the steering box with another bearing and link s the front of both frame rails together. Anyone have good luck with this. Truck seems to wander, all looks tight on front end. I understand poor handling comes with the Dodge. Suggestions most welcome.

youngcummins

Reaction score
dad has the steering stabilizer on his 97 and likes it. alot tighter than it was without it but still not even close to my 96 2wd cummins. its a dodge 4x4 it has to steer bad

lucky

lucky
Reaction score
Travis:
Thanks for the tip on the column. I'll check it. I'm new to Cummins but not Dodge. I drove gas Dodge for 25yrs and it was always said that when you die you will go straight to heaven because you suffered enough on earth driving Dodge. I can say this because I walked the walk.

Anyhow I wanted the Cummins. It will tow a 5er about 7,000 lbs. Here I need some advice. I know the old 727 can't take the power but I don't know if 'as is' it will do a good job on the 6-7% long grades in Virginia and Pen. I thought a mild tweek might do. Shift plate forward (by the way, how do I get at it?), open up the intake and exhaust. Can I gut the cat in place or do I have to take it off? Intake and exhaust suggestions very welcome.

This thing is near mint with just under 100,000 on it. I sure hope this steering stabilizer makes the thing driveable (it don't handle like a Ford), it has an heavier track bar that seems tight. So I'll go with the DSS first.
Ken

lucky

lucky
Reaction score
DSS on its way, ordered it today.

I measured the track bar on the truck and it is larger than stock so someone had fingers in it.