fuel plate mod, truck died 12v 5.9

pullinu

pullinu
Reaction score
Yep, we have all the hardware, if the fuel lever dropped past the plate causing this then removing the plate could possibly bring the ole girl back to life, a simple fix would be nice, theowner of the truck is sweatin 50 cal. bullets right now

1320Cummins

Pro Parts Thrasher
Reaction score
Did yall get into the throttle ******* your test drive? I am wondering if the extra HP being drawn by the now uprated pump caused the timing to slip.
The P-7100 uses no timing keys only a tapered shaft on gear fit torqued to 145ft lbs.

pullinu

pullinu
Reaction score
I'm no expert on the 5.9 cummins but that sound logical, the short rattle sound it made during acceleration is what keeps buggin me, and after that she started running bad, any one have info on how to check gear and pump timing

1320Cummins

Pro Parts Thrasher
Reaction score
Here is a so so article on timing the P7100.
http://www.dieselpowermag.com/tech/...esel_fuel_injection/injector_pump_timing.html

There is no practicle way for you to check it without special tools.
The best route for your friend is going to be your local Bosch friendly pump shop. Have them set timing to 16 degrees btdc. Special tools are also required to set the timing.
When you break the lines loose are you getting good solid pulses of fuel?

pullinu

pullinu
Reaction score
Yes we are getting good fuel at the lines, the only problem is there is no bosch freindly shops up here, might have to do some travling, were almost at the edge of the earth, thanks for the article link, all info is greatly appreciated

1320Cummins

Pro Parts Thrasher
Reaction score
Did the rattle sound like fuel knock or mechanical? Do you know if this truck has had the dowel pin tabbed. Check the driver side of the gear case for a crack and oil leak. Also check to the right the water pump for a crack near where the cps harness runs.

pullinu

pullinu
Reaction score