Broken oil cooler

diesel_pusher

Reaction score
I'm an OTR trucker with an 1987 International skoolie / RV. I'm currently on vacation but with a broken oil cooler.
I'm looking for International part #1805849C1 for my 6.9L International / Ford diesel.
This is the rear end-cap casting for the oil cooler. It is the part that the oil filter spins-on. I'm currently in a truck stop and need this part badly to be on my way.
The truck stop folks are quite nice but I cant say much for the local IH dealer.
I dont blog well and can be contacted at [email protected] Espiritus Engineering at yahoo dot com.
thanx, Bob

OLDBULL8

Good Morning Ya'll.
Supporting Member
Reaction score
From your post, it appears you have a school bus converted to an RV. How to repair the oil cooler.

You will have to drain the radiator firstof all.
Remove the rear (broken) casting. You will get some oil and coolant out of it. Leave the front casting on.
Wiggle and pull the tube (coolant bundle) out of the front casting.
You will need new O'ring's for it, two large and two small. IH dealer has them. Also the gasket for the rear.
Large O'ring 1804414C1
Small O'ring 1807563C1
Gasket E3TZ-6A636-G
To reinstall use plenty of grease on the O'rings.
You'll need a pry to push the tube back in, then pry the rear casting on.
Hard to explane, but you'll see how.
Hope this helps.

EDIT: Oil cooler rear end cap--E4TZ-6881-D
Oil cooler Front cap---E4TZ-6881-D
Oil cooler Bundle---E4TZ-6A642-A
dONT' HAVE THE ih NUMBERS, BUT ih CAN CROSS REFERENCE THEM. Sorry bcaps lock was on.

Last edited:

OLDBULL8

Good Morning Ya'll.
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Heath: Hard to tell what he has, but think it's a school bus converted, so it might take a van header. Sent him two emails, no answer yet. Gave him a TDS member's name and phone from the TDS Help Network that's close to St. Louis.

diesel_pusher

Reaction score
Dear OldeBull & Company: