Best headlamp polisher

wmoguy

Reaction score
I tried a kit from harbor freight to make my yellowed headlights look better and was less than impressed.
What's a good kit to take out the yellow and where can I buy it?

BleednBlue68

Ford Country!
Reaction score
I've never used a kit before but I think Mothers and Maguires has a kit. I'd like to know if the better companies have kits that work. What happened to the good ole glass headlights haha.

Mulochico

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I couldn't find one that worked. I ended up buying new ones at http://www.am-autoparts.com/. $180 pr no chrome, $199 pr chrome strip.
They give off great light and are cheaper than I could get them anywhere else at the time. Price for both was cheaper than one at AZ

itsacrazyasian

residentcrazyasian
Reaction score
i wet sand with 1500, then 2500 to get the yellow out, then i polish with 3m plastic polish, then i clear with automotive clear coat and the headlights look brand new.

riotwarrior

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I use a turtle wax kit has cut polish, 4 levels of sanding pads and a sealer...really a nice lil kit works well I cut sand one way ///// then use the next level of sander the other way\\\\\\\ back and forth through all four pads then polish in circles.

JM2CW

3/4 Ton-O-Fun

90F250 na7.3IDI 4x4
Reaction score
Why polish before shooting clear? Wouldn't clear fill the haze of 1500?

I have 1500 and spray can clear coat. I might try tomorrow and let you all know how skipping steps works out.

So the yellow is only skin deep, eh?

1994Diesel

Constantly thinking
Reaction score
I tried a kit from harbor freight to make my yellowed headlights look better and was less than impressed.
What's a good kit to take out the yellow and where can I buy it?