A/C Compressor Clutch Plate?

mankypro

Learning Slowly...
Reaction score
I've never worked on an automotive ac before and I'm about to recharge the compressor on my f-250 which only blows warm air at the moment.

With the engine at idle and turning on the ac the clutch plate on the front of the compressor kicks on and off for about 5 second intervals - I assume it's trying to reach operating pressure?

Weird, I tossed the gauge I have on it and with the compressor off it reads 0 then with the a/c on it fluctuates between 25 and 45 psi based on the clutch plate being activated or not.

Which reading do I assume is correct the 45psi or the 25? Don't particularly want to overcharge the system.

It was converted to 134 before I owned it. I assume the clutch kicking on and off is normal?

mankypro

Learning Slowly...
Reaction score
The clutch just kicks on and off the air entering the cab is nominally cooler than outside air. I topped off the system with some 134 and still nada. Bad compressor?

funnyman06

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I believe that when it kicks on and off like that the system is very low but not empty, on my truck the clutch kicks on and stays on. But mine still blows warm, kinda sucks. Im going to assume the guage you used your installed it on the high side and not the low side. When you get the refill kit it will come with a gauge with safe levels and will say install on the low side.

tractorman86

Reaction score
where are you putting the guage? what is the pressure now that you put some freon in her. if you are hooked into the hi-side 45 is way too low if you are on the lo-side 45 is too high so make sure you are using the right port. also if you try to charge it into the hi-side you can blow up the can, so BE CAREFULL!!!

mankypro

Learning Slowly...
Reaction score