6.9 van having some issues with smoke and power

birdsteve

Reaction score
Hey all, I am the proud new owner of a 1986 Ford E350 with a 6.9 N/A and C6 transmission. Someone also put headers to dual 2.5 exhaust. I am new to owning a diesel as well, and could use some help.

The previous owner flew from FL to Colorado to drive this thing back. He said it had no issues other than an occasional issue with the lift pump (but whenever I depress the fuel filter valve while cranking, it spews at a high rate). I drove it 3 hours home to Gainesville and it ran fine, except when I stopped to *** in the national forest, it cut out as I stopped, but started right back up and continued the drive fine.
When driving over 55 it makes a steady popping out of the exhaust, almost as if a bracket is broken and bouncing into itself, but it's definitely the exhaust. It puffs a bit of whitish smoke in time with the exhaust pops, and has a pretty harsh smell. It also has some leakage on the driver side above the headers, and the CDR valve looks wet/dirty on the faceplate. The oil reads about a centimeter within the oil gauge on the low end, even though I added 3 quarts. It has the K&N filter, which I've read is bad and has a bit of oil in the intake along with a bit of oily looking dirt, so the CDR might be funky.

It fires right up and then slightly stumbles, but I just give it a tiny bit of gas and it is good to go and sounds like a happy sewing machine. There is a little white smoke when it starts, but goes away until about 40+. The glow plugs click on and off 2 or 3 times, then stay off.