Signs of impending dual mass meltdown?

RLDSL

Diesel fuel abuser
Reaction score
I hooked up to my 32ft car hauler last week and was pulling out and it felt like the clutch was slipping under load ( rpms climbing, speed not , was able to make the run without incident by staying down in the gears and keeping the rpms up , had to go retrieve wife.govs car after she hit a deer), which seems pretty absurd since it has less than 10k miles on a kevlar lining and I'm not a clutch rider, in fact I usually get more miles out of a clutch than just about anyone, and I got under there and looked for signs of oil or fluid contamination and it looked good.

Is this a sign of impending dual mass flywheel doom or do I have something freaky going on in the clutch department or possibly a dragging brake on my trailer?

THanks--------Robert

Exekiel69

Reaction score
I'm by no means an expert but if the clutch is slipping there is either fluid contamination or the pressure plate is not doing the job right.

1dieselman

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The DMF has a built in overload clutch that if it has ever slipped once there is a chance it may never hold right again. It is a spring (I'm searching for words here) with friction material on it sandwiched under tension. If it gets hot it looses the spring tension and causes problems. Other than that are you sure your clutch is completely engaging, no pressure holding it disengaged slightly?

RLDSL

Diesel fuel abuser
Reaction score
The DMF has a built in overload clutch that if it has ever slipped once there is a chance it may never hold right again. It is a spring (I'm searching for words here) with friction material on it sandwiched under tension. If it gets hot it looses the spring tension and causes problems. Other than that are you sure your clutch is completely engaging, no pressure holding it disengaged slightly?