Yet Another Hard Start

RJMorrow

Reaction score
I have a '95 F-250 7.3L which has become increasingly hard to start. This is a problem in any weather less than 60 degrees. I have checked my GP resistance and all are good, also verified GP relay operation. The truck does have a block heater which i replaced the cord end on and tried but did not really help (verified block heater element resistance, ok).
I am still learning about these diesels, but i suspect i am not acheiving the necessary RPMs to start. In addition, i only get about 15-20 seconds of crank time before batterys give out. I have replaced one battery so far and i load tested the remaining battery and it appeared ok. The truck runs fine once started and will start with a booster/charger assistance. At this point there are 298,000 miles on the truck and I do not have extensive service history from previous owner.
Both batterys read good voltage after sitting idle for several days.

My suspicions are bad starter/battery cables or a bad starter. Does anyone have a ballpark figure for starter current draw during starting?
Or any suggestions on where to look next ?
Is there a neccesary RPM that must be achieved in order to start?

Thanks,
RJM

NJKen

is a daddy!
Reaction score
The most likely cause is the glow plug relay. They can have voltage to them but not close when enrgized. You can test it with a simple meter or even a test light by going between the 2 big terminals. If you use a meter you should see about 12 volts or your test light will light. Have someone turn the key on but not crank the engine and the meter should drop to near 0 volts or the test light go out. Re-post with your findings.
Ken

69oiler

I don't feel tardy
Reaction score
as a rule you should replace both batteries at the same time. just because they show good volgate does not mean the have good amperage.