Wire caught in parking brake, engine died and wont start.

Lovely Bunny

Reaction score
Hi all, very fresh newbie here so please be gentle. 88 Econoline 350 7.3. This morning I drove my kid to daycare and when I parked and set the parking brake a spark or ten issued forth and the engine died. I could smell burned plastic. Upon inspection found that a fairly thickish (18 gauge?) yellow wire had gotten caught in the parking brake mechanism and gotten mangled. I traced the wire as best I could under the hood and found myself at the starter relay, where I could also smell a bit of fresh char. I also found three fusable links on yellow wires of the same gauge--two leading to the starter relay and the other bundled with some other wires and plugged into a little black box just to the drivers side of the relay. I ended up replacing all three fusible links but still have no sign of a start. The wait to start light doesn't turn on, engine doesn't crank at all, basically nothing happens.

Also the hazard lights stopped working.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thewespaul

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
That’s a bummer. Welcome to the forum! The yellow wires supply power to the fuse block and the majority of the power for your accessories. Double check your fuses, and make sure your batteries have proper voltage, it’s possible they slowly drained over time since the hot at all times circuit was damaged.

Selahdoor

How can I help you, or make you laugh, today?
Supporting Member
Reaction score
This may be obvious, but did you simply pull the wire out of the parking brake assembly and leave it be, or did you cut it and splice it back together, to be sure you had good solid wire, all the way through?