VSS WIRING?

Bako IDI

Reaction score
so I know there is a billion threads on the vss for our trucks, but I cant seam to find one that answers my question, so I apologize in advance for making ANOTHER thread for it...

(explanation)
so when I bought my truck for some reason the PO had cut the wires to the vss on the rear diff, like clean cut with scissors.. so I crimped them back together (I am not electrically incline AT ALL) and it was fine for awhile, occasionally they would wiggle loose and id just re-crimp them.. about a month ago we were visiting family out of town (a few miles down dirt roads in the mountains, crossing springs and what not) and tranny went into limp mode.. I tried re-crimping them a dozen times and I finally just limped it home.. I am going to go get a new VSS today, but I'm wanting to replace the wires too because its just kind of janky...

(question)
NOW my question isss..... I have zero knowledge about electrical stuff, what type or size of wiring would I need to use? where would I buy it? can I just use two same size wires and run that or is there a certain type of wire, copper etc.? ALSO if anyone has the part # for the vss threw autozone or 0'reileys that would be very much appreciated! thanks guys!

DaveBen

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
You need some one to solder the wire connections. This will provide continuous electricity flow the the VSS. What is happening is the wire connections become loose and become intermittent and that screws up your tranny. Solder and use heat shrink tubing on them to keep out water and other things.

unclehoser

Old dog, new tricks
Reaction score
You need some one to solder the wire connections. This will provide continuous electricity flow the the VSS. What is happening is the wire connections become loose and become intermittent and that screws up your tranny. Solder and use heat shrink tubing on them to keep out water and other things.