Truck won't start PERIOD!!! Help!

Thefarmboy21

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ok so I've been working all the bugs out of my 87 that sat for 10 years. So far everything has worked good other than it needs an IP and injectors. Had the injectors tested and 3 are weak, also the truck wont start back after it gets hot. It smokes a bit of grey and white smoke but not using coolant and little oil. Til now I was in ok shape.

NOW I'm dead in the water....or should I say snow! Temps are down to about 20-30 and she hasn't started for 3 days. Cycle the glow plugs, light comes on for a long time, hear some clicking noises, won't start. Try giving it some pedal, won't start. Plug it up all night (dunno if the heater works) wont start. Then out if pure desperation I gave it 3 separate doses of ether and.....won't start?!?!

What's going on? Never known a diesel to not even HIT on ether? Glow plugs were all good a few months ago. Maybe the GP controller??? Idk what to do cause its bad weather and I need my truck! Thanks

Silver Burner

Burnin' Oil&Rubber
Reaction score
Have you verified you are getting fuel? It definitely sounds like your IP is going bad, not to mention your injectors, but you may have just crossed the point of no return with it. But it should at least hit on ether. Do you have power to your FSS on top of the IP? The truck won't even try to fire without that hooked up.

TWeatherford

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Definitely sounds like a bad IP, or lost power to the FSS.

I've never messed with ether, so I don't know what it should or would do with it. I do know that a properly tuned fuel system and a worn out one will mean the difference between no or very slow cold start and starting right up. Of course you have to have the batteries, cables, starter, and glowplug system working right as well, but a good fuel system is a big part of the puzzle.

Thefarmboy21

Full Access Member
Reaction score