Tips for KDP timing case replacement

squoril

Reaction score
Flew home for Christmas this last year and got a KDP job from my sister in law for new years :p
Please remember i am a helicopter mechanic by trade and an auto mechanic by shade so all of this is just advice, do what ever you want to do.

You must be registered for see images attach

It went pretty smooth but a few things i would have liked to know that ill put here for the next guy

Impact gun needed (lucky i had one) is very much help for zipping off everything

Drain the coolant and pull all the rads, AC condenser can be hung down but careful on the lines

Your supposed to install the timing cover and then install the seal but i installed the seal on the bench because i didnt read good, no leaks so far YMMV.

The big one. you dont need to pull the cam with all that entails but you need some tools, it can save you time

FIRST THING: witness stripe everything! one tooth on the cam gear and two teeth on the crank then TWO teeth on the cam gear and ONE tooth on the P-Pump gear. and take HD pictures of everything clean the gears where you stripe with brake cleaner so the stripe will stick, use a xylene based paint pen to mark it.

You must be registered for see images attach

IT IS EXTREMELY important to get a perfect stripe on the P-Pump shaft to gear because when the P-Pump shaft turns like it did on me that stripe is all you have to get the timing right without any other tools, the stripe on the nut lets you know when its on tight enough

SECOND THING: pull the lift pump. when you install the gear someone with a long screwdriver will need to be prying on the lift pump lobe trying to push it out the front so when your hammering the cam gear back on the cam shaft doesn't slide back and pop the plug out the back of the engine and now you get to pull the transmission