timing

90idi4x4

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Im timing my truck at the school on thursday. Where is a good place to set it???

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
The factory setting is 8.5 plus or minus 2 degrees... Now we all know better than that for many reasons. Now a days the fuel is so poor compared to when these engines came out. So we like to bump it up to around 9.5 degrees before top dead center when useing the plus timing method. If your going to be useing the luminosity type timing method you will have to remove the number one glow plug and install a probe called the luminosity probe. Then the timeng is actually done off the combustion flash and the actual timing is in retarded degrees. Something like 1 1/5 to 2 1/5 degrees retarded. I'm no expert on doing that like of timing so check around before you just take my word for it. I think the lumi timing method is done at 1400 rpm where the pulse timing method I know is done at 2000 rpm.

90idi4x4

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Alright ill see what instructor is using to time it. He mentioned tonight about "the screw" u turn up for fuel in the pump is not all it takes to get it goin right. There is another one in the fuel inlet that adjust pressure. He said we will turn it an 1/8th turn to bump pressure up abit because i added the turbo and turn the fuel volume up. Has anyone ever done this??

OLDBULL8

Good Morning Ya'll.
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Now you want to adjust, turn up the fuel. Well, unless you have an EGT (Exhaust Gas Tempurature Guage) your messing with something that will mess up your engine. But if you insist on doing it here's how.