rdgreene

rdgreene

Reaction score
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello i am new to the diesel truck. I have a 1997 f350 crew cab drw auto, truck has high mileage 390k.Was working good when i got it in august, now not so good. Started one evening idled fine, when started down the street it felt like it was running out of fuel, and missing, went about another 50 feet then quit. Cranks over ok, cranking rpm is good, white smoke from exhaust when cranking. Will start if held to the floor, runs like a bag of crap will not idle and only ran long enough to get it back to the driveway. Now it sits waiting for me to repair. When it starts, after holding the throttle to the floor, it seems to be running only on the right bank, the left side manifold stays cold. Has no power at all. Now what i need is some help in figuring out how to check the system with basic tools. No scanners in my tool box for working on diesels. The dealer is happy to charge 3hr min shop time to check the truck and i seem to think thats just a little too much with a flatdeck charge on top. Any help is appreciated. R Greene

Mike

Stroker
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the site Mr Greene,

I think you might have an under valve cover harness burnt. Pull the injector/glow plug connector plugs apart on the bank you suspect is not firing and see if any of the pins look burned, hot, melted etc etc... If so, I believe that might solve your problem.

94f450sd

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
where are you located?you may have a member like myself that has a scantool living close to you that is willing to help you out.

but yes it sounds like burnt wireing.the IDM(injector driver module)will shut down the bank of cylinders with burnt harnesses to save itself if there is a short circuit.take the oil fill cap off and sniff inside.you should also be able to smell a burnt wireing smell through it if the harnesses are burnt.