newbie with a new burb 6.2

future_spiegel

Reaction score
Hey everyone i would like to start by saying im a newbie to suburbans but had a 300sd diesel previously and like to work on my vehicles.

I picked up a nice 85 gmc burban 6.2 that has the turbo from a 6.5 a few weeks ago and im looking to do some maintenance on it.

The guy i bought it from left for alaska about 4 years ago and left it sitting but started right up when i went to see it and have no problems with it so far. Rides good (a bit bouncy) and plenty of power but im concerned that the radiator water is orange so i would like to take care of that, as well as get my gauges working since nothing works except speedo.

Here are some pictures and hope to be here very often. (if the pictures are not allowed let me know and i'll comply)

You must be registered for see images attach

Diesel JD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ohh, sweet truck! I wonder if the coolant could be that awful dexcool stuff GM was using for a few years before even they realized what a poor ELC it was. I'd dump that coolant and flush it out real good. I don't know much about the GM diesels but probably 50-50 low silicate green coolant would be just fine. I don't know if the seals in the system are compatible but for a true worry free coolant, where compatible nothing beats the CAT ELC, no more worries about water ratio or cavitation and it lasts 300K miles or more supposedly. No advice on the gauges, but do be sure to keep an eye on the pyro, since a turbo was not designed into the 6.2 plan. It can certainly handle one but you really need to keep the EGTs well under 1000*F on the hot side of the turbo to be safe I would think. I don't know how well they make or handle boost so no comment there. Sweet score and good luck with it.

future_spiegel

Reaction score
thanks! i'll definetely get on the coolant asap as well as change the oil, fuel filters etc since it got neglected for a while.